Lingnan Prism Symposium Series (3.3): Chinese Learning Goes West: The Reception and Development of Traditional Chinese Thought in Modern Europe, North America, and Beyond

Posted by

Organizers: Stephen Roddy and Zong-qi Cai

Hosted by the Centre for Humanities Research and the Department of Chinese, Lingnan University

Session A 

The First Interpretations of the “Yi-jing” in the West and in Russia
Artem I. Kobzev, China Department of the Institute of Oriental Studies, RAS (Russia) 

Learning or Rejecting the Chinese Language? A socio-historical study of multilingual interactions in the context of the European missions in China and their reception in Europe (1550-1700) 
Angelo Catteneo, Italian Institute for Research

“The Ancient and New Doctrine of the Chinese on Filial Piety”: On the Most Extensive Treatise on Xiao in Any European Language Dating from 1779
Nicolas Standaert, University of Leuven

The “Doubly Insufficient” Translation: Reading the Laozi with Abel-Rémusat
Dinu Luca, National Taiwan Normal University 

China in the Eyes of French Intellectuals from La Mothe Vayer to Abel-Rémusat: A Testimony of European Hybrid Modernity to Revise Postcolonial Narratives
Jean-Yves Heurtebise, Fu-jen University 

Foreign Concepts in 17th Century Europe: “Meritocracy” and “The People”
Martin Powers, University of Michigan 

Phantasmatic Representations of China and Chinese in 18th Century Sinology and Benedictus Svenonius’s Critique of the “Sinographic Imaginary”
Martin Svensson Ekström, University of Gothenberg

Date: 5 July 2021
US (PDT): 6:00 am – 9:15 am
US (CDT): 8:00 am – 11:15 am
US (EDT): 9:00 am – 12:15 pm
Europe (CET): 3:00 pm – 6:15 pm
Russia (MSK): 4:00 pm – 7:15 pm
China/HK: 9:00 pm – 12:15 am

Register:https://lingnan.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJIvdOqqrzwqHdQBJ1naCH919Fer1Tsm_Svc

Session B 

The “Porcelain” Pagoda of Nanjing as Design Fiction, ca. 1400-1900
Ellen Huang, ArtCenter College of Design 

Yogacara, Compulsive Behavior, and Life-Sustaining Creativity
Chia-ju Chang, Brooklyn College, and Kurt Spellmeyer, Rutgers University 

Max Weber and Confucian Ethics
ZHANG Chunjie, University of California, Davis 

Chinese Tragedy and the Political Life of Literary Criticism
Nan Z. Da, University of Notre Dame 

Where was China?: Qing Geodesy to the Early Modern World
Minghui Hu, UC Santa Cruz 

Jewish China – German Jews and the Translation of Chinese Literature and Thought
Sebastian Musch, Universität Osnabrück 

Gary Snyder, Kenneth Rexroth, and Other Worthy Sages of the Bamboo Grove
Jason Wirth, Seattle University 

From Alan Watts to Xuanhua Shangren: Beating Paths to the Western Paradise
Stephen Roddy, University of San Francisco

Date: 6 July 2021
US (PDT): 6:00 am – 9:15 am
US (CDT): 8:00 am – 11:15 am
US (EDT): 9:00 am – 12:15 pm
Europe (CET): 3:00 pm – 6:15 pm
Russia (MSK): 4:00 pm – 7:15 pm
China/HK: 9:00 pm – 12:15 am  

Register:  https://lingnan.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJEoceurqTIuG9CdIPYxAmHSIIFwptaGRBlK

This symposium is under the auspices of a broader project on the dissemination of Chinese culture led by Professor Yuan Xingpei of Peking University. Symposium papers, after successful peer-review, will be published in a volume in the Brill book series Chinese Texts in the World.